Oldhammer Orc Regiment by Marauder Miniatures

The Fighting Big Uns

The regiment of Big Uns for my Warhammer 3rd Edition Orcs & Goblins is finished. Halfway through a unit of this size I usually run out of steam, but this time I kept steadily at it, while working on some side projects for variety.

Oldhammer Orc Regiment by Marauder Miniatures
Mob of Big Uns marching into battle

I converted the banner pole since it is too large in its original configuration and sticks out way in front of the model. With the overall theme of the unit being “sumwer’ from tha east”, I felt a Nippon style banner wouldn’t look out of place.

Oldhammer Orc Regiment by Marauder Miniatures
Flying the banner of the Greedy Maw

The shield emblems are all variations on the tribe’s motif, the Greedy Maw.

Oldhammer Orc Regiment by Marauder Miniatures
Heavily armed and armoured, clearly the elite of the horde

8 thoughts on “The Fighting Big Uns”

    1. It’s fun working with those classics again. Also, it means that I don’t have much time for my current generation models, so by the time I get around to painting them, they will also be classics ;)

      Like

    1. Thanks, I thought I might as well go for it and paint them in a very martial and uniformed way. They will contrast nicely against some of the more primitive and unruly elements in my horde, clash of orky kulturz.

      Like

  1. Nice work. Definitely a cohesive and mean looking unit. And I think I’ve said it before, but regardless – great work on the shields (and the standard, too!)

    Like

    1. Thanks mate! I thought I’d take longer with all the shields and the banner to paint, but keeping it simple in terms of designs paid off.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.