The Newly Deceased

I supported a small Kickstarter project by a German rookie sculptor a few months ago and pledged for the Undead faction (surprise!) consisting of three zombies, a necromancer, a vampire and a headless horseman. This was the first release under the Fantasy and History label, which I hope will make it off the ground as a new manufacturer and find some distribution.

Over the weekend I started painting the models and finished the first two zombies, the simplest of the sculpts.

Two zombies in front of a medieval building ruin

The dead stalk their former neighbourhood

The figures are in a non-heroic scale and nicely proportioned. There are some characterful touches like the half exposed skull and the skeletal lower leg and the poses evoke a suitably shambling walk. I intend to use them for Frostgrave, which I am casually gathering bits and pieces for without having played the game so far.

Figure of a zombie in an upright walking pose

In the background my first building from 4Ground’s Mordanburg range, which I am totally sold on and will use to build up a small townscape suitable for Frostgrave, Mordheim or as a backdrop for fantasy battles. For the same purpose I bought the 4×4 Cobblestone Battlefield by UrbanMatZ, an equally good purchase.

Figure of a zombie in a low lurching gait

7 thoughts on “The Newly Deceased

    • Thanks, I am enjoying the books and am looking forward to painting some of the wizards and assorted mercenaries and monsters, both from my existing collection and from the rather nice North Star range. That style of game I definitely enjoy, Mordheim and Necromunda before that are still amongst my favourites.

    • It’s a nice little range. I might need some more zombies to go with them in future, I think pre-slotta Citadel could fit them quite well.

Leave a Reply

