Visitors from Y’ha-nthlei

I played Call of Cthulhu for several years, but other than a figure representing my player character (a private investigator carrying a revolver) I never painted any creatures from the Cthulhu mythos. However, the temptation to collect a range of Lovecraftian monsters in miniature form has been gnawing away at my sanity ever since.

The first H. P. Lovecraft story I ever read was The Shadow Over Innsmouth, so when I recently stumbled upon a small coven of Deep Ones from CP Models, my fate was sealed.

Miniature models of three humanoid creatures with fish-like features

Disturbing the Deep Ones during their ritual was a bad move

I followed their original description as having greyish green wet skin with white bellies and bulging, unblinking eyes.

Bipedal creature with grey-green skin and a fish-like head

Their wet skin suggests these creatures are water dwellers

Humanoid fish-creature raising its arms

Deep Ones are servants of Dagon and Hydra

Bipedal fishy creature viewed from the side with a staring yellow eye

The Deep Ones infrequently venture on land to seal dark pacts with humans

I’m not sure yet how I’ll use these creatures in games but my appetite is whet for a menagerie of Lovecraftian monstrosities.

Back view of a Deep One with arms aloft in front of a stone monolith with engraved spiral decorations

A strange monolith is the focus of the Deep Ones’ devotion

7 thoughts on “Visitors from Y’ha-nthlei

  1. Brilliant mate, love the wet skin effect, and the tones are lovely. Loads of narrative fun to be had with these dudes I am sure!

    • Thank you! I am rarely getting the gloss varnish out, but for these guys it seemed appropriate. Other than proper Deep Ones they could also act as any sort of fish mean in a dungeon crawler, maybe oozing paralysing slime from their webbed hands in the absence of weapons.

Leave a Reply

