Hashut’s Burning Wrath

I painted this Chaos Dwarf Daemonsmith as a present for my girlfriend. I know I am sowing the seeds of my own downfall here, but since she already keeps beating me with my Dwarf army she might as well continue to do so with her own forces.

The figure was a joy to paint and it really brought home the advantages of resin over metal for me. I think this was probably the first resin model from GW/Forge World I painted, and the crispness of the details, and their intricacy, bring the character to life using some quite straight forward painting techniques.

Chaos Dwarf Daemonsmith

Chaos Dwarf Daemonsmith from Forge World

Chaos Dwarf Daemonsmith

Back view of the glowing furnace

Chaos Dwarf Daemonsmith

The figure stands raised up on a piece of slate

Chaos Dwarf Daemonsmith

The ancient Assyrian style influences are obvious

2 thoughts on “Hashut’s Burning Wrath

  1. Nice painting. If the techniques were simple it hasn’t stopped them being effective. I like the scale mail on the back; is that bronze with a brown ink, or is there more too it?

    Also, I feel you pain on getting beaten by your girlfriend. My (non-gamer) wife continually beats me at Warmachine, which we got into together.

    • Thanks! The scales are Citadel Sycorax Bronze, washed with thinned down Agrax Earthshade to only flow into the deepest recesses. I followed that with a heavier shade of Seraphim Sepia and then just picked out some of the scales’ edges with Sycorax Bronze again to give them an extra sparkle.

      I mostly blame my recent defeats on the excellent composition of my Dwarf army…

Leave a Reply

